Skip to content

The Return

July 2, 2011

Not even the sleep of death could mask her return – I had felt it instantaneously – something I had waited for patiently – for over a year – Sookie was back. The sun was still out so I could not go to her immediately – instead I was forced to wait a bit longer – so wait I did.

I’d taken an inventory of where she was and what she was feeling while I waited – I was certain that she had not been hurt but she was upset and – very – sad. I was also certain that I would not be the only Vampire to sense her return. Bill Compton– or should I say – King Bill Compton – would have also felt it – and he would no doubt get to her before me being closer in proximity. I wondered if she would think differently about him after all this time – and if she had thought about me during her absence.

Passing the time until sundown I had mentally gone through all that had been done to Sookie’s house – the renovation was almost completed and although it was not to my taste – it would be to her – just as if Sookie had done it herself – well – with one or two modifications – ones that I was quite proud of – it was after all – my house now. Yes – over a year had passed but I had never doubted she would return – and had gone to great lengths to make sure that when she did – I would be ready.

Just as I had suspected – when I arrived at the house Compton was already there. What perfect timing – hearing him admit he thought Sookie had died – of course I could not resist telling them both the truth – that I’d known she wasn’t dead – that I’d never lost hope. The King tried his hardest to send me away without formal order – he should have known it would be a futile attempt to try a battle of words with me and at last he had resorted to issuing his Kingly command telling me to go. Ah the look on Sookie’s face when I had – in my own way – acknowledged that I had to obey Bill – she knew something wasn’t right – even better though – was the look she’d given Bill after I’d told her that EVERYONE had given up on her – everyone that is – except me.

I’d passed the rest of the night in somewhat normalcy – dismissing Pam from her ill fated attempt at delivering a public service announcement regarding Vampires and then looking into some area business but one thing stayed on my mind until the minute I went to ground for the day. As I slid into the downtime of our kind I pictured with great detail – that precise moment when I would claim what I now deemed to be – mine.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 12:35 am

    do you beleive she will actualy see the logic in all of this or will she follow her emotions blindly again. im afraid those emotions might be the death of her, but now you can keep a closer eye on her. question is will you take advantage of the circumstance or use it to protect her?

  2. Corey Ann permalink
    July 2, 2011 12:39 am

    ugh i hate that bill is king. dammit. and Sookie needs to quit being so stubborn and give in to you; i sure would. 😉 ♥

  3. Diane rosa permalink
    July 2, 2011 12:39 am

    OMG i just love it love it love it !!!!!!!!!

  4. the northman files permalink
    July 2, 2011 1:47 am

    She’ll come around eventually. *wink* But just watch yourself, Eric. I have no doubt that “king” Billy is out to get you – again.

  5. Laura Alvarez permalink
    July 6, 2011 8:46 am

    Eric, take my advise on this. She likes the soft sided part of you. If you show her just a little bit of humanity and care, you will go far because I can tell you right now, you got a lot of love for Sookie. You get more bees with honey than with vinegar. P.s. Bill is a double edge knife, becareful and watch your back. He is out to get rid of you permanently.

  6. Marlene Emmett permalink
    July 14, 2011 9:21 am

    Master:
    I knew that you’d never give up on Sookie. You love her very much.
    You know that she has meant alot to you from the moment you met her.
    You have always told her the Truth,while William Thomas Compton has
    always lied to her from first time she met him.

Leave a comment